AU Proxy

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by JumpCritz, Nov 10, 2018.

?

AU Proxy on Cosmic?

  1. Yes

    50.0%
  2. No

    50.0%
  1. JumpCritz

    JumpCritz New Member
    Orchid Merchant Mercenary Survivor Pixie Adventurer -= Dragon + =-

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    IGN:
    LookAtThemFlop
    Planet:
    Dragon
    Hello everyone,

    I am here to ask the admins on behalf of of every AU player that there is (A LOT) if we can pleaseee get an AU proxy. It is a bit essential when it comes to pvp. Every US player instantly has an advantage over AU players and there IS a way to make it more fair/balanced. I hope that the Admins/Staff of Cosmic consider getting an AU proxy for players that actually lowers ping.
     
    #1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. LegendaryKiwi

    LegendaryKiwi Member
    Phantom Orchid Merchant Journeyman Tropico Warlock Pyro Adventurer -= Witcher + =- Basilisk -= Guardian + =-

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    11
    IGN:
    LegendaryKiwi
    Planet:
    Spirit
    Faction:
    123smd
    They have one, doesn’t do anything for me though
     
    #2
  3. JumpCritz

    JumpCritz New Member
    Orchid Merchant Mercenary Survivor Pixie Adventurer -= Dragon + =-

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    IGN:
    LookAtThemFlop
    Planet:
    Dragon
    Exactly. The proxy or whatever they have rn doesn't do anything.
     
    #3
    • Funny Funny x 1
  4. Ajboomboy

    Ajboomboy Member
    Scorcher Shard Demonlord

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    IGN:
    Ajboomboy
    Planet:
    Demon <3
    Yeah the straya

    +1
     
    #4
  5. Darcy Dahms

    Darcy Dahms Member
    Beastslayer Bamboo -= Scorcher + =- -= DemonLord + =- Glacier Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    4
    IGN:
    pro_pvp2017
    Planet:
    Demon
    Faction:
    WeDemBoyz
    A proxy is never going to do anything.... Explain to me how having a proxy is ever going to decrease ping?
     
    #5
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. clone945945

    clone945945 Well-Known Member
    Imp Scorcher Guardian Archmage -= Dragon + =- -= Cosmonaut + =- Fiend Executioner Glacier General

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    74
    IGN:
    clone945945
    Planet:
    Alien
    Faction:
    Threatened
    I don’t think you know how servers or even the internet works. How will an Au proxy lower your ping by 100-250ms? The internet is just a cable that connects every computer togeather. So a cable coming from the Au or Eu will be much longer then one coming from inside the USA. The larger the distance the longer the time it takes to get a response. There’s much more factors that play into it but that’s the just. If you want good ping like American players cosmic will need to host a planet near you but considering most players are not Au I can’t see that happening any time soon.
     
    #6
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. clone945945

    clone945945 Well-Known Member
    Imp Scorcher Guardian Archmage -= Dragon + =- -= Cosmonaut + =- Fiend Executioner Glacier General

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    74
    IGN:
    clone945945
    Planet:
    Alien
    Faction:
    Threatened
    I wonder why a proxy won’t help -_-
     
    #7
  8. HitboxPvP

    HitboxPvP Well-Known Member
    Hero Survivor Tropico Spectre Private Sandstormer Scribe Archmage Beastslayer -= Scorcher + =- -= DemonLord + =- -= Dragon + =- -= Cosmonaut + =- -= Guardian + =- -= Glacier + =- FlowerKing Captain Drifter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    162
    It won't help, the fact of the matter is we still have to connect to where the server is located... If we use a proxy it just adds another point where our connection travels through before it goes to the server.

    P.S. I'm pretty sure this is how it works don't quote me on it though.
     
    #8
  9. ItzChuck

    ItzChuck Cosmic Client v2.0 Beta Tester
    <= Beta Tester => Hero Pilot Vine Guardian Acolyte Archmage -= Scorcher + =- Executioner Ghoul Dragon Daisy

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    206
    IGN:
    FreeHunna
    Faction:
    Apex
    They would need to get an Aussie host
     
    #9
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  10. HitboxPvP

    HitboxPvP Well-Known Member
    Hero Survivor Tropico Spectre Private Sandstormer Scribe Archmage Beastslayer -= Scorcher + =- -= DemonLord + =- -= Dragon + =- -= Cosmonaut + =- -= Guardian + =- -= Glacier + =- FlowerKing Captain Drifter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    162
    No point even mentioning that though because why would they move hosting to Au when we are a very very small minority of the player base
     
    #10
  11. ItzChuck

    ItzChuck Cosmic Client v2.0 Beta Tester
    <= Beta Tester => Hero Pilot Vine Guardian Acolyte Archmage -= Scorcher + =- Executioner Ghoul Dragon Daisy

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    206
    IGN:
    FreeHunna
    Faction:
    Apex
    I mean if they wanted to they could make an AU planet which would run through an Aussie host but that has an approximate 0.00000000071% chance of happening
     
    #11
  12. xXKillaTwinzXx

    Orchid Hydra Wizard Adventurer Amazon -= Scorcher + =- Commander

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    IGN:
    Killlaa
    Planet:
    Lava
    Faction:
    Evo
    What is wrong with playing with that 600 AU ping. :D
     
    #12
  13. Darcy Dahms

    Darcy Dahms Member
    Beastslayer Bamboo -= Scorcher + =- -= DemonLord + =- Glacier Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    4
    IGN:
    pro_pvp2017
    Planet:
    Demon
    Faction:
    WeDemBoyz
    Yea that's how it works but people get confused because you see the ping to the proxy, not the ping to the server.
     
    #13
    • Agree Agree x 1

Share This Page